Printable Version


Central Ohio

American Red Cross Central Ohio Blood Services Leadership

Sharyn Whitman

Chief Executive Officer, Central Ohio and Indiana-Ohio Blood Services Regions

Sharyn Whitman began serving as the Chief Executive Officer of the Central Ohio Blood Services Region in January 2014, but she was not new to the American Red Cross then. 

Sharyn was first appointed CEO of the American Red Cross Indiana-Ohio Blood Services Region in 1994.  Since that time she served as a Division Vice President before returning to the blood region in 2008. 

Beginning in 2014 Sharyn leads both the Central Ohio Region and the Indiana-Ohio Region as CEO.  She is a member of the American Association of Blood Banks and the American Society of Clinical Pathologists. 


Sharon Jaksa

Vice President, Central Blood Services Division 

Sharon Jaksa has more than 28 years of American Red Cross experience serving in various roles including: medical technologist, laboratory processing coordinator, senior technologist, assistant director of Technical Services, director of Manufacturing, chief operating officer and CEO of the Great Lakes Blood Services Region. In 2012, she was promoted to the Great Lakes Blood Services Division vice president role. In November 2013, she was appointed as the vice president of the Central Blood Services Division, including 15 blood services regions and seven shared management teams. She resides in Michigan and holds a master’s in administration from Central Michigan University. She is also an adjunct professor for Michigan State University, teaching in the Master’s Program for Laboratory Operations. 


Central Ohio Blood Services Region Board of Directors:



Joyce Guenther, Chair
Fairfield OB/GYN Association

Javaune Adams-Gaston, PhD
The Ohio State University

Connie Argus*
Retired - Nationwide

Vandana Agrawal
Highlights for Children

Janie Bailey
Retired – Columbus Area Integrated Health Services

Richard Bird
Mettler-Toledo CF

Lorraine Bowman
Abbott Nutrition

Tai Cornute
The Ohio State University

Rod E. Crane*
MedFlight of Ohio

Patricia Dove*
Training Associates

Ezra C. Escudero
State of Ohio Small Business Development Centers

Craig Freshour

Victoria J. Frye, SPHR
Columbus Public Schools

Dave Fullen
create.produce:media, LLC

Ellen Grinsfelder
Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls

Jennifer Hall-Jones
Ohio University

Angela Hopkins
Hyundai Ideal Electric Co.

J. S. Jindal, DDS

Catherine Lang-Cline
Portfolio Creative

Robert Lount, PhD
OSU Fisher College of Business

Rebecca Lusk
Lusk Architecture

Melissa McClincy
UnitedHealth Group

Tom McCollough*

Brian G. Miller
Brian G. Miller, Co., L.P.A.

Kathy Nicol, MD
Nationwide Children’s Hospital

James Rores
The Floriss Group, LLC

Dan Ryan
Daniel F. Ryan, LLC

Patrick Sheridan*
Principal – Insurance/ IBM Global Business Services

Diane L. Snyder
Willis of Ohio, Inc.

Beth Thomas

Stephanie Townsend, MT(ASCP)SBB
Nationwide Children’s Hospital

Jocelyne E. Walker, RN/BSN

Lauren R. Widett, PHR, GPHR
Navigator Management Partners, LLC

Matthew B. Williams
Cardinal Health


*Ex officio